Lunenburg Historical Society’s Christmas open house
The Lunenburg County Historical Society is pleased to announce that its ANNUAL CHRISTMAS TOUR will be on Sunday afternoon, Dec. 2, at 316 East Fifth Ave. in the Kenbridge Historic District.
Known historically as the Coleman-Munn House, the attractive, two-story home — with its stucco-faced gables enhanced with brackets and half-timbering — is reminiscent of a Tudor cottage. This style, also sometimes known as “English cottage,” was especially popular with its cozy rooms in the United States during the 1920s and 1930s.
The home is now owned by Courtney and Michael Bender who have lent their creative talents to updating the interior of this structure that was built ca. 1927, while keeping many of the elements of the past. Original to the house are windows, much internal trim work, fireplaces, oak floors, and even some unique lighting fixtures from the era of its construction.
Mr. Bender, a project manager with Kenbridge Construction, has completed much of the updating of the house himself, moving and replacing walls and adding other unique touches. He and his wife have modernized this house as a wonderful place to raise their two children. The story of the transformation is something equal to what you would expect to see on HGTV. Don’t miss this opportunity. Admissions will be taken at the door.